About the Gender Equality Council of the Parliament of Georgia

The Gender Equality Council has started activity in 2004 in the Parliament of Georgia simultaneously with set up of the Advisory Council on Gender Equality at the Chairman of the Parliament.

Later, in 2010 as a result of adoption of the Law of Georgia “On Gender Equality” and introduction of respective changes to the Rules of Procedure of the Parliament, the Gender Equality Council has been converted into the Standing Body of the Parliament.

The primary objective of the Council is to ensure systematic and coordinated activity on gender issues. The Council is guided under the Law of Georgia “On Gender Equality”, the Constitution of Georgia, the Rules of Procedure of the Parliament and other normative acts, as well as under the Statute of the Council and other Acts of the Chairman of the Parliament.

The Council facilitates to definition of main directions of the state policy on gender issues by the Parliament. The Council is responsible for elaboration and development of the legislative base in gender equality sphere and for provision of consideration and endorsement of the respective strategy.

The Council shall as well ensure oversight of the activity of the agencies accountable to the Parliament of Georgia. One of the important directions of the activity of the Council is public awareness on gender equality and facilitative undertakings to boost women’s activities. In this view, the Council cooperates with the Gender Equality Councils at the Supreme Councils of the Autonomous Republics of Abkhazia and Adjara, Gender Equality Councils in Municipalities and with the female members of the City Assemblies of the Municipalities and the Advisors on Gender Issues.

The Council shall be chaired by the Chairman of the Parliament or by one of the Deputy Chairpersons with assignment of the Chairman. In compliance with the Ordinance of the Chairman of the Parliament, the Council is chaired by the First Deputy Chairperson, Ms. Tamar Chugoshvili, assuming office in January, 2017. In January, 2017 the new enlarged composition of the Council, comprising 16 members has been approved. Organizational-technical support of the Gender Equality Council is imposed to the Secretariat of the Chair of the Council.